Helpful Databases

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

America's Genealogy Bank

Climb beyond the names and dates on your family tree to the recorded details of their daily lives. Find the facts in four centuries of newspapers, books, and documents.

Categories Genealogy

America's Newspapers & Magazines

Find information related to business, careers, education, health, politics, science and technology, social studies, and more from a vareity of news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, videos, and web-only content featuring the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Saline Courier, Hot Springs Village Voice, USA Today, and more.

America's Obituaries

Search for obituaries published across the nation by region, name, date, or obituary text.

Categories Genealogy

Ancestry Library

Find Census, birth, marriage, death records, and more. Available only inside the library.

Categories Genealogy

Arkansas DMV Practice Test

Driving-Tests makes free permit practice tests, that are written by experts, are available to anyone who wants to study, and come with online copies of official state guides.

Arkansas DMV Study Guide

PDF downloads of the Arkansas Driver Exam study guide are available from the Arkansas State Police website.

AtoZDatabases

Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more.

Blogadillo

The blog of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, South Central Region.

Categories Health & Wellness

Brainfuse HelpNow

HelpNow provides live tutoring on a variety of subjects, offering a comprehensive suite of online academic services designed to support many learning needs and styles.

To access ACT and SAT prep materials, click on "Skillsurfer" under "Expert Help." You will then be able to select "College Entrance Test Prep" and choose your preferred test and subject. 

Brainfuse JobNow

JobNow provides you with practical tools to help you get a job. Get live interview coaching, expert resume analysis, and more.

Categories Careers

Chilton Auto Library

Chilton Library provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site. Since this library subscribes to Chilton Library, you are now equipped with decades of data to maintain your vehicle.

Clinical Trials

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.

Categories Health & Wellness

Colonial America 1492-1775

Get online access to the textbook This Is Who We Are: Colonial America, 1492-1775. To log-in, use login name: salinecountylibrary and password: 24766. 

"This new edition of This Is Who We Are: Colonial America, 1492-1775 is the 13th volume in the This Is Who We Are series. It includes 25 profiles--spanning more than 250 years--of men, women, and children living and working in the Colonial Era int he country that would become the United States of America. Like the other works in this series, this volume observes the lives of working Americans, in this case, pilgrims, colonists, settlers, slaves and Native Americans--those who helped shape the history of the country--decade by decade." 

Categories E-books

Colorín Colorado

ColorĂ­n Colorado is the premier national website serving educators and families of English language learners (ELLs) in Grades PreK-12. ColorĂ­n Colorado has been providing free research-based information, activities, and advice to parents, schools, and communities around the country for more than a decade.

Categories Learning Languages

Consumer Reports with Best Deals Plus

The online version of Consumer Reports provdies expert and independent reviews of items for buyers.

Categories Consumer Research

Coursera

Coursera offers over 2,000 courses--which can be taken for free or for a small fee to earn an official certificate--from leading institutions like Harvard and Stanford. Popular classes include: Machine Learning, Financial Markets, Programming, Philosophy and more. 

CultureGrams

Provides access to cultural reports, statistics, and primary source material for countries across the globe, including the United States and Canadian provinces. Includes unique information such as native recipes, interviews, photos and videos.

Digital Learn

The Public Library Association's new site, DigitalLearn.org, is an Institute of Museum and Library Services grant-funded project to create an online hub for digital literacy support and training.

Duolingo

Duolingo, which has about 200 million registered users around the world, currently offers 68 different language courses across 23 languages, with 22 more courses in development. Lessons integrate text translation, visuals, speaking, and sound into a comprehensive learning environment.

Categories Learning Languages

eBooks Central

Collection from ProQuest providing access to authoritative ebooks from the world's top publishers on a range of subjects: arts, business management, education, general knowledge, health & medicine, history & political science, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology, and social science.

eLibrary Academic Platform

A massive collection of multidisciplinary periodical and digital media content, designed for middle and high school students, undergraduates at community colleges and universities, instructors, and librarians. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research. All content is 100% full-text, including documents from books, magazines, journals, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, and videos. The collection covers a wide range of subjects.

Categories Traveler Databases

eLibrary Guided Research Platform

Get guided help for research by choosing your area of interest and accessing a list of relevant topics. 

FastCase

FastCase is a legal research tool free to use for Saline County Library cardholders. For the login information, please see the help desk.

Categories Legal Help

Fold3 (formerly Footnotes)

Combines original documents and personal histories to create a unique historical and genealogical resource. These digital images of records, preserved in the National Archives and other regional archives, represent a growing collection of historic documents-most never before available on the internet. The collection features millions of records available from a content partnership with The National Archives. This collection also includes the War of 1812 Pension Application Files.

Categories Genealogy

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Contains our complete collection of E-books outside of Overdrive. Great for research, reference, continuing education, homework help, health, or just leisure reading.

Categories E-books

Gallaudet University ASL

Gallaudet University is the premier institution of learning, teaching and research for deaf and hard-of-hearing students. For more than 150 years, Gallaudet has produced leaders and innovators who have influenced history. Jump into basic ASL Vocabulary with videos, categorized by theme or learn basic ASL with free online interactive lessons.

Categories Learning Languages

GenBank

The world's most complete collection of public DNA and protein sequences.

Categories Health & Wellness

Genetics Home Reference

Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.

Categories Health & Wellness

HeritageQuest

Search the 1790-1930 census records, family and local histories, PERSI, and the U.S. Serial Set, or look for selected records from the Revolutionary War and the Freedman's Bank.

Categories Genealogy

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

EBSCO is now offering a Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center with subjects ranging from needlecrafts and textiles to scrapbooking and paper crafts. View articles with step-by-step instructions and new techniques. 

Categories Do It Yourself

LawDepot

LawDepot is the leading publisher of do-it-yourself legal documents and templates. Create legally binding documents just by answering a few simple questions, customize them to your needs, and best of all, save time and money.

LocatorPlus

The National Library of Medicine's online catalog, providing information about the Library's holding of books, journal titles, and audiovisuals.

Categories Health & Wellness

Lynda.com

Lynda.com is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Log-in to view the video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

Mango Languages

Provides language learning experiences with step by step lesson plans for 71 different languages. This database features ESL lessons for over 16 languages along with a text translator. First time users must create a profile in order to use the resource.

National Library of Medicine Gateway

The Gateway provides a single access point for many of the National Library of Medicine's information resources.

Categories Health & Wellness

Proquest Central

A cross-disciplinary research tool with 39 databases that can be searched together or individually. 

ProQuest Research Companion

Get a walkthrough of the research process with this research companion that will track your progress.

Categories Traveler Databases

Sanborn Maps of Arkansas

Sanborn Maps include the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, height and function of structures, location of windows and doors, as well as street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

Categories Genealogy

SIRS Discoverer

General reference database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas and content sets such as reading, language arts, current events, science, social studies, history, health, and technology. SIRS Discoverer provides editorially-selected, indexed, and curated materials from over 2,100 newspapers, magazines, and websites offering guided research for young researchers.

SIRS Issues Researcher

Background and analysis on 350+ leading issues, providing pros and cons on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

Small Engine Repair

Small Engine Repair Reference Center (SERRC) is a full text database accessible via a custom EBSCO interface. It is intended for public library patrons, as well as public school teachers and students, seeking reference and instructional information about small engine machinery maintenance and repair.

ToxNet

An extensive collection of bibliographic and full-text information, covering the effects of drugs and other chemicals on humans.

Categories Health & Wellness