Chronicling America
Chronicling America is a Library of Congress website dedicated to the preservation of historic newspapers from all fifty states. Arkansas Heritage has contributed over 200,000 pages, including 64 newspaper tiles, representing 27 counties. This information, covering the years 1830 – 1923, was not previously digitized and is part of a national effort to help researchers and … Continued
US NewsStream
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access … Continued
Libby and OverDrive
We have a variety of eBooks and eAudiobooks available to download from Overdrive and the Libby App. Just visit your app store to download either program to your phone or tablet. With the Overdrive App, click “sign-in” and then select “Mid-Ark Regional Library System” from the drop-down list. Enter your library card number and PIN to sign … Continued
International NewsStream
International NewsStream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades. NewsStream features newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International NewsStream provides information from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial … Continued
Global Breaking Newswires
In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe. Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from … Continued
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Canadian Newsstream
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada’s leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers. It provides full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Most titles are updated daily and some backfiles date … Continued
America’s Historical Newspapers
Explore early American history to support genealogical and local history research, school homework assignments and more. Features more than 1,100 historical newspapers from all 50 states. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
America’s News
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Please use the links below for: Saline Courier, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Collection, … Continued
Proquest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available. Like Google, ProQuest Central brings together numerous databases that can be searched together or individually. PQC encompasses complete databases across all major subject areas, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, and Philosophy. It includes thousands of full-text newspapers from … Continued